Reach for the Stars

Hi Everyone,images (96)

Sorry I have not put out a blog for awhile but Piet van Zyl has dragged me kicking and screaming back into the darkness of his world and this time all I can say is that he has thrown me into the deep end, and it is a case of sink or swim…either way you just have to hope that the crocodiles CROCdon’t get you and I manage to complete this quest that he has dug up from only he knows where.

I was out walking Pooch and his small companion aptly named Fudge and while we were out there under the sun my mind was working…yip it works on occasion. What was I going to blog about, and then it struck me…It is has been something that I read a while ago regarding a very well known Author who says that he never started out to earn a living from writing.

Well all I can say to him is…congratulations…Come on, get real…every author out there including myself has high hopes of one day hitting that best sellers list…why else spend hours, days, weeks pouring your heart and soul out onto print, not to mention research, research  and then going through the whole process of proof reading, editing, re-writing, submitting to publisher…waiting…and then smiling because the manuscript has been accepted.

For me, the wait once I have sent it off to my AWESOME Publisher VHP logo left banneris the worst. I like to compare it to a school kid submitting an assignment for year end and I end up like a cat on a hot tin roof. The relief once it has been accepted is a wonderful feeling.

Now, unlike the well known Author who claims that he never wrote for gain, but it came his way anyway…I have dreams of my writing capturing an audience of readers…I love to write, my characters talk to me, they take me to places that others dream about and pardon me, but I am reaching for the stars while my feet are on the ground…I would love to have a best seller and be recognized as an International Author.11224052_1075405575804918_3075480545506251439_n11923250_1601484650074128_1186049125472057654_n

So there you have it in black and white…writing to me is a career, but it is a career that I love and get a huge amount of joy and satisfaction from. I never in my wildest dreams ever thought of myself as a writer, but it is a blessing that I had without knowing it and the gate needed to be opened for me to realize it.

Well the gate has been opened…and the stories are just lining up to be told. There is no pressure when I write. I take one day at a time and allow the story and characters to lead me along the pathway until the journey is over, one word at a time, although I will admit that my typing sometimes can’t keep up with the voices in my head.

For example when my lovely wife Lucie challenged me to sit down and write Blood Moon over Africa, it was like a roller coaster ride for me, from start to finish…the story consumed me until it was over and I thought that was that, but not to be. One day later I started Blood Spoor in the Dark, and it has been a roller coaster ride for me ever since, and believe me, it has been one hell of a ride, and I have enjoyed and still do, every single minute of it.

Try one of my books,7 they have been born out of a passion that I did not know I had and just maybe one day I will reach the stars, but my feet will always remain firmly on the ground.  

Take Care out there, and stay safe, you never know what is watching from the shadows.

Shadow 4

Leave a Reply

