You “FRIGGIN ROCK”

Hello and Good Morning,images (72)

What an awesome day we have over here…the sky crystal clear, bright blue…the waves rolling in onto the beach, the birds taking over the deck and the bush all around us filled with the calls of the wild…it is great to be alive and to be blessed.

Now, why am I in such high spirits, well it is very simple really.

I have just finished my latest WIP, a total of 55k words plus and after my proof reader/edit/loving wife had finished it, she turned to me and said…”that is your best work yet”…well you kind of expect that kind of support from your family, images (87)but it is great to hear all the same as it is encouraging, and really nice to know that they are behind you 100% of the way.

I sent my manuscript off to my publisher, and as always feel the same way a schoolboy feels when he submits a project to be marked…I mean after all, you think that what you have done is awesome, but the final say rests with the publisher…so when I opened my eyes this morning, the first thing I saw was Pooch,Photo0914 sitting staring at me, but the minute he realized I was awake..I had a dog on the bed telling me to get up…there is work to do.

To cut a long story short, I logged on and decided to check my mail. I was greeted with a mail from my publisher…Vanilla Heart Publishing, with the heading…”Paul, you friggin ROCK”…so now you know why my day is so great.VHP logo left banner

The most exciting thing about my journey into the world of writing is where I end up…heck the places I have been, the situations I end up in, but then I have Piet to bail me out of any trouble, which is great. It has been an awesome journey so far, and to those of you who have joined me, I Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Talking about exciting…having my first four novels translated into Afrikaans for the South African market is just awesome12742622_10208810841053198_1784419977459292507_n…having my work published in print just blows me away, and getting a letter from my publisher telling me that I “friggin ROCK”, just makes my day.

So people, if you have not yet taken that step and walked under the Blood Moon…maybe it scares you a bit and is not your genre, then you can slip on a mask and try Mask of Deceit…after all I wear a lot of different masks in my writing…you will find that in the Adventure/Thriller…Blood Spoor in the Dark and The Devil in Eden, so it is not as if there is no choice.CYLsO03U0AAZx2d

I would like to share this review with you that a reader very kindly posted on Goodreads.

The book in question is my debut novel…Blood Moon over Africa.

Ravenna Young rated it was amazing FIVE STAR*****

“As I lay in bed, totally freaked out, I’m trying to think of how to best convey the awe that I’m feeling towards this book. I don’t like being freaked out and normally I would chicken out on a read like this but I kept reading, even though I lost sleep. I’m not sure how it happened but I finished this book…
Zunckel has magically described Africa, Zambia, in such a way that I became absorbed in the story of a newly married couple determined to habitate a home that is cursed by a nasty half hyena As I lay in bed, totally freaked out, I’m trying to think of how to best convey the awe that I’m feeling towards this book. I don’t like being freaked out and normally I would chicken out on a read like this but I kept reading, even though I lost sleep. I’m not sure how it happened but I finished this book…

Zunckel has magically described Africa, Zambia, in such a way that I became absorbed in the story of a newly married couple determined to inhabit a home that is cursed by a nasty half hyena/human beast. Zunckel doesn’t sugarcoat anything and the result is a terrifyingly authentic experience.

The writing is clean and straightforward, unlike any style I’ve read to date and the characters are quirky and stupid and stubborn like most horror story characters…personally, I’d have been gone after the croc defiling.

I think what I loved most is the genuine connection I felt to the scene, to Africa, and its wild nature which served as the perfect backdrop for this story.
I’m stuck because I’ve been left with questions but not sure if I have the nerve to read the next in this series…oh, I’ll read it because I’m a sucker for punishment and have to follow it through.”

***

 

That is such an awesome Review…Thank you Ravenna, for being brave and seeing it through to the end.

Now I have read some very high profile authors, and yet not one of them ever had this effect on me…The books in question fall into the Horror Genre…they were good…but something was lacking, they did not scare me, so I take the above review as very high praise indeed from a fellow author…my intention with Blood Moon over Africa was not to scare, but to entertain, although I will admit…it gave my wife nightmares.

Anyway that is enough from me for today.

If you have joined me on this journey, I suggest you hold on tight because we still have on hell of a ride ahead of us.

I wish you all well and remember to Stay Safe and Take Care…You never know what is watching from the shadows.Shadow 4

Leave a Reply

